Home and Away!

Hi guys!

So I didn’t post last week because I was ill, to be honest, I’m always ill. ALL. YEAR. ROUND. Just last week I was bed bound ill, you know? Hence why there was no post, but enough about my health,  I’m back this week to talk to you guys about the pros and cons commuting into Uni. So let’s get to it!

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 20.48.03.png

Why

Probably what you’re all thinking, as potential first-year uni students, is why? Uni is a time to get away from your parents and have unlimited freedom right? Well, yeah, but it also isn’t always cheap, depending on what type of accommodation you choose, along with many other living costs. I used to hate the fact that I’d only have classes three times a week, but have to pay for accommodation for the remaining four days!

Pros:

  • Saving money on food (you’d be surprised at how much of that student finance you can save + Mums home cooked meals)
  • Saving money on accommodation (Bills included: Internet, TV..the list goes on)
  • No noisy flatmates (unless you have some rowdy brothers!)
  • If you get homesick, your family and friends are close by
  • The balance of uni and home life
  • If you’re an introvert, this is probably for you

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 20.48.47

 

Cons:

  • Travel can be expensive and long (depending on where you live, I live in Essex so the drive in isn’t too bad!)
  • Not as much student life (I wouldn’t recommend living at home in your first year if you want an authentic university experience, but if you’re a granny like me by your second or third year, why not!
  • Lack of freedom from your parents or siblings (if you have really strict parents, you may want to give it a second thought)
  • Limited choice of University – If you live far away from your main choices of uni, you’re pretty much forced to live on campus

 

So, that’s a nice short and sweet post for you guys to consider, it’s definitely an important decision to make and shouldn’t be taken lightly. I suggest you definitely do your research on it!

That’s it from me!

Mon xx

 

Leave a Reply

